Zodiac House Symbolism


Like a clock, the zodiac is divided into 12 segments, or houses, each one ruled by a different sign.

The zodiac begins with the first house, and goes counterclockwise around.


Each house is associated with a set of traits, beginning from the self, and expanding outward into society and beyond. At the moment you were born, the planets were all in specific signs and houses. When an astrologer interprets your chart, she blends the meaning of each planet, the house it’s in, and the sign it’s in, to map the obstacles or gifts you’ll face in this lifetime.

When planets visit a house, they light up that part of your chart, and energize that house’s traits. Astrologers use the houses to predict which parts of your life will come into focus, and where you can take the best possible action. To learn more about a house, read about the sign that’s associated with it.

The first six houses are known as the “personal houses,” while the last six houses are known as the “interpersonal houses.”



First: House of Self (ruled by Aries)

Second: House of Possessions (ruled by Taurus)

Third: House of Communication (ruled by Gemini)

Fourth: House of Family (ruled by Cancer)

Fifth: House of Pleasure (ruled by Leo)

Sixth: House of Health (ruled by Virgo)

Seventh: House of Partnerships (ruled by Libra)

Eighth: House of Sex (ruled by Scorpio) 

Ninth: House of Philosophy (ruled by Sagittarius)

Tenth: House of Status (ruled by Capricorn)

Eleventh: House of Friendship (ruled by Aquarius)

Twelfth: House of Subconscious (ruled by Pisces)




1st: keywords: self, life, body      (Sign: Aries   Ruler: Mars)

2nd: keywords: possessions, money, material circumstances, livelihood      (Sign: Taurus   Ruler: Venus) 

3rd: keywords: local movement, short journeys, communication, school, siblings      (Sign: Gemini   Ruler: Mercury)

4th: keywords: home, family, roots, parent      (Sign: Cancer   Ruler: Moon) 

5th: keywords: creativity, children, romance, entertainment      (Sign: Leo   Ruler: Sun) 

6th: keywords: health, service, work, routine      (Sign: Virgo   Ruler: Mercury) 

7th: keywords: partners, marriage, open enemies      (Sign: Libra   Ruler: Venus) 

8th: keywords: sex, death, inheritances, other’s money, loss      (Sign: Scorpio   Ruler: Pluto)

9th: keywords: travel, higher education, religion, spirituality, law      (Sign:Sagittarius   Ruler: Jupiter) 

10th: keywords: career, social position, dominant parent      (Sign: Capricorn   Ruler: Saturn) 

11th: keywords: friendships, associations, aspirations      (Sign: Aquarius   Ruler: Uranus) 

12th: keywords: hidden matters, the unconscious, clandestine relationships, secret enemies   (Sign: Pisces   Ruler: Neptune)